Lisnagarvey crowned EuroHockey Club Trophy winners

Lisnagarvey crowned EuroHockey Club Trophy winners for 2024 after 4-2 win over Cardiff & Met. 



Cardiff and Metropolitan University, the Welsh champions last season took on Lisnagarvey in the EURO HOCKEY CLUB TROPHY I final at Lousada in Portugal on Monday.

The Welsh side took the lead in the 4th minute when Owain Dolan-Grey opened the scoring from a field goal. Lisnagarvey responded almost immediately when Andrew Williamson scored from open play in the 5th minute to make the score 1-1. Leuan Davies restored Cardiff’s lead converting a penalty corner in the 11th minute and they held that lead until half-time when it remained 2-1. Ryan Getty from open play equalised for Lisnagarvey in the 33rd minute. Captain Andrew Williamson gave Lisnagarvey the lead for the first time in the match to put his side 3-2 ahead in the 36th minute and the victory was sealed by Oliver Kidd’s goal from open play in the 40th minute. So Lisnagarvey held on to win the Euro Club Hockey Trophy I and secured a place in the next level of European competition for an Irish team in the 2024-25 season.

Congratulations to Erroll Lutton and his squad on a terrific achievement. And this added to the qualification by our men’s national Hockey team for the 2024 Olympics in Paris, showing that Irish men’s hockey at adult level is in a very healthy state.  Lisnagarvey are the EuroHockey Club Trophy winners in 2024 after a 4-2 win over Cardiff and Met.

CARDIFF & MET:  Mark Philpot ( GK), Alf DInnie, Ieuan Davies ,David Aspray, Owain Dolan-Grey, Tom Wood, William Riley, Jack Pritchard (C), Scott Rawlings; Nicholas Morgan, Sion Goldsmith SUBS USED: Matty George (6 mins), Josh Mill (7 mins), James Tyson (7 mins), Charles Hunte (7 mins), Ben Lazarevic (10 mins), James Pettitt (11 mins)

LISNAGARVEY: James Milliken (GK), Ben Nelson;, Jonathan Lynch, Mark McNelis, Peter McKibbin,  Andrew Williamson (C),  Daniel Nelson, Harry Morris, Ryan Getty, Andrew Edgar, Matthew Nelson  SUBS USED:– James Corry (6 mins), James Lorimar (7 mins), Oliver Kidd (8 mins), Matthew Aughey (9 mins) MacKenzie Connor (19 mins), Matthew McKibbin (24 mins)