Schools Competitions



Kate Russell was one of the most influential figures in the history of the Irish Ladies’ Hockey Union (ILHU). Her utter dedication to the game was of huge benefit to the union. She was ILHU Honorary Secretary from 1938-59 and served as ILHU President in 1966-67. She was President of Leinster LHU 1964-69, Honorary Secretary (IFWHA) 1963-1971 and Vice President (IFWHA) 1971. She was made Honorary Life Member of the ILHU.

Kate died in 1978 after 50 years of service to the game and upon her death hundreds of condolences poured into the offices of the ILHU, from all corners of the hockey playing world.

The Kate Russell All Ireland Schoolgirls Championships are played on an annual basis and consists of the the five regional schools cup winners.



The All-Ireland Schools (Boys) Championship brings together the top school talent in a play-off tournament to decide the All-Ireland Schoolboys Champions of the year. The tournament is held around Halloween time each year and consists of sixteen teams.  With eight Ulster, five Leinster and three Munster, there are four pools, the winner of each pool plays in the semi final and then final. The remaining teams then play a friendly against each other.

It is the right of each province to produce its quota of Schools every year in its own way. Players must be under the age of 19 at the start of the School Year (1st July).



The June Smith Schoolgirls Championship was first played in 2019 with the competition inaugurated for Under-14 girls schools teams. Mount Anville Secondary School, Leinster were the first winners and current holders, as the tournament was not played in 2020 or 2021.

The competition is named in honour of June Smith who is from Galway and one of the first female umpires to be awarded her FIH Crown. She was a driving force along with her husband Mike in Galway Hockey Club and they are responsible for where the club is today. Between them, June and Mike ran the Galway Hockey Club Mixed Festival Annual Tournament for over 25 years, bringing up to 36 teams from all over Ireland and the British Isles. She set up the Connacht Umpires Association and was an active member, along with Mike, in facilitating many rules nights and coaching existing and upcoming umpires.

June taught at Salerno Secondary School for over 40 years where she was head coach of the hockey teams. Salerno hockey is still going strong today, as was seen recently at the 2022 Kate Russell All Ireland Tournament. June is very deserving Honorary Life Member of the Connacht Branch and of Hockey Ireland. The Connacht Branch describe June as “hockey royalty”.

The June Smith Championship is played on an annual basis and is competed for by the winner of each regional Minor Cup competition.




The John Waring All-Ireland Schoolboys Championship is for the cup winners and runners-up from the Leinster, Munster and Ulster at the All-Ireland Schoolboys Competitions. It features six of the top school teams at Under-14 level for boys each season. The competition is round robin with every team playing each other. The competition is a one-day event, and each match is 20 minutes with no half time. The winner will be determined by the team with the most points. It is named after John Waring, who was a former president of the Irish Hockey Association.