EYHL Men’s Division 1 Review


The only fixture due to take place this weekend in the EYHL Men’s Division 1 was at Shawsbridge where Instonians hosted UCD, following last weekend where both sides matches got postponed due to frozen pitches. UCD had been very unfortunate in their previous outing not to secure all three points against Monkstown conceding a penalty stroke in the last act of the match when leading 2-1  to only secure  one  point in the  end.

So they came into this game in relatively good form against an Instonians side yet to pick up a League  point. The students showed a similar level of intensity as the y had done against Monkstown and despite the best efforts of the home side, it was only a matter of time before it was reflected on the scoreboard. Alan Sothern gave  them the lead in the twenty-eighth minute with a goal from open play and UCD led 1-0 at half-time. Instonians maintained their foothold in the match during quarter three but it was a whole other story in the final quarter where  UCD went into overdrive.

Harry Lynch increased the lead for UCD with a converted penalty corner on the hour mark. Within a minute, UCD were even further ahead when  Sam Walker put them further in front from open play to leave them 3-0 ahead.  Alan Sothern got his second of the game a minute from time from open play to secure the win by a margin of 4-0. This win for the students narrows the gap between them and eighth placed  Annadale to two points with the  same amount of games played by both clubs.


INSTONIANS:  Finlay Marney(GK),  Matthew  Steele, Philip Hamill  Ben Palmer (C), Ross Kelly, Sebastian Best, James Palmer, George Palmer, Gavin Lecky, David Arneill, Gabriel Tenner SUBS USED: Mark Vames  (9 mins)  Matthew Martin ( 9 mins); Matthew McAreavey (10 mins), Ben Rose (13 mins)

UCD: Ross Clarke, Samuel Ryder, Kevin O’Dea(C),  Mark Smyth, Josh Filgas, Adam Luke Galbraith, Callum Hewat, Josh Gill, Harry Lynch, Bryan Smyth, Mark Collins  SUBS USED: Alan Sothern, (9 mins), Samuel Walker (9 mins), Alex Lynch (13 mins), Andrew Fox (14 mins), Gavin Gleeson (18 mins)