Hat-trick from Magee gives Ireland Men 3-2 win over France

Ireland 3 (E Magee) France 1 (G Baumgarten, E Tynevez).

A hat-trick from Eugene Magee saw Ireland beat France in the second of this two-match series in Lisnagarvey Hockey Club.

Magee put Ireland on the scoreboard early on with a goal in the 2nd minute of play, in noticeably better conditions than last Tuesday’s match. The Banbridge man took his 280th cap in this match making him the most capped Irish Hockey player ever, surpassing Shirley McCay’s previous record of 278 caps.

However, the two look set to leapfrog each other for the top position of the coming fortnight between their respective FIH Series finals in Le Touquet and Banbridge.

France’s Gaspard Baumgarten secured an equaliser in the 15th minute to end the quarter 1-1.

The second quarter was marked by pressure from both teams, yet little clear cut goal scoring opportunities. France took the lead with a well taken goal from Etiene Tynevez at 25 minutes, but Magee wasn’t long securing the equaliser.

A short corner for France provided little threat for Ireland ahead of the half-time whistle, with the Irish defenders standing strong to ensure the score remained 2-2.

Quarter three provided chances for both teams, with Paul Gleghorne and Johnathan Bell alongside Jamie Carr in goals standing strong.

The final quarter of the match saw France’s Charles Masson receive a yellow card for poor tackle in the 51st minute. While Eugene Magee was on fire again scoring his third goal of the match at 53 minutes.

The Green Machine travel to Le Touquet next where their FIH Series Finals begin on June 15. All travelling support welcome! You can find more information on the tournament at: https://www.fihseriesfinals.com/1051/competitionOverview

Ireland: D Harte, J Jackson, J Bell, E Magee, S O’Donoghue, S Murray, B Walker, D Walsh, P Gleghorne, L Cole, S Cole,

Subs: J Carr, M Bell, L Madeley, M Nelson, M Robson, N Glassey, C Harte.

France: A Thieffry, T Genestet, H Genestet, S Martin Brisac, B Rogeau, V Lockwood, C Masson, N Dumont, G Baumgarten, F Goyet, JB Forgues,

Subs: P van Straaten, A Bellenger, C Peters-Deutz, E Tynevez, T Ponthieu, M Branicki, C Saunier.