Hockey Ireland Inter Provincial and EY Hockey League – Results Sunday Nov 19

U16 and U18 Boys Interprovincial Finals.


ULSTER U16 – 1


The two sides seemed evenly matched in the early stages and produced a tight and cagey first quarter and there were no goals.

Leinster went ahead with a first goal by their captain Alfie Le Quesne, who converted a penalty corner in the nineteenth minute.

Leinster were 1-0 up. But Ulster got on the scoresheet just before half time their captain Edward Irwin scoring from a penalty corner in the twenty seventh minute.

Leinster added to their tally in the fiftieth minute through Robert O’Brien whose goal from open play gave Leinster a restored lead of 2-1.

Leinster increased their lead when Captain Alfie LeQuesne got his second of the match from a penalty corner to put them 3-1 against Ulster in the fifty sixth minute.
Leinster put the game to bed in the final quarter when David Rankin scored from open play in the sixty fifth minute and made it 4-1.  Despite the scoreline Ulster’s goalkeeper, Benjamin Patterson was outstanding for the Ulster side between the posts. Leinster are the 2023 Interprovincial U16 Boys champions.

LEINSTER U16: Dylan Evans GK, Alfie Le Quesne (capt.), Noa Mulvey, Toby Slye-O’Connell, David Rankin, Jake Fulton, Johnny Woods, Oliver Graham, Robert O’Brien, Louis Rothwell, Conor Fox SUBS USED: Milo Dagg (5 mins), Lee Mc Mullen (6 mins), Luc Mc Kiernan (6 mins), Riagan Dunne (7 mins), Simon Montgomery (7 mins)

ULSTER U16: Benjamin Patterson (GK), Edward Irwin (Capt.), Toby Lyons, Seb Holly, Harry Thompson, Ethan Redford, Isaac Kelso, Finn Thompson, Robbie McAreavey, Charlie Taylor, James Barbour SUBS USED: Matthew Lunn (11 mins), Daniel McKee ( 13 mins), Matt Barrett (15 mins), Riley Marney (18 mins), Jack Mayne (22 mins), Charlie Costello (36 mins)

ULSTER U18 – 3


The final game in the Under 18 Boys interprovincial took place at Havelock Park, Banbridge when Ulster took on Leinster on Sunday afternoon.

Captain Tom Archbold led by example and scored the first goal of the game from open play on twenty three minutes. Leinster responded through a field goal from Kevin McKeown in the thirty seventh minute to level it at 1-1. Ulster restored their lead in the fiftieth minute with converted penalty corner from Ben Law 2-1.

Jack Geraghty got the Leinster men back on level terms with a converted penalty corner in the sixty-fifth minute. Ulster won the Under 18’s Interprovincial championship when Matthew McAreavey scored from open play to leave the final score Ulster 3 Leinster 2.

ULSTER  U18: Denver Goldbey (GK),  Adam Duffield, Michael Hollway, Harvey Begg, Max Nicholson, George Palmer, Milo Thompson, Lukas Moles, Matthew Mc Areavey, Tom Archbold (capt.)  SUBS USED: James McCoy (GK) 36 mins, Sean McMillan (12 mins), Ben Law (10 mins), Ethan Clothworthy (10 mins), Robbie Brown (8 mins), JJ Holley (8 mins)

LEINSTER U18: James Coffey(GK), Harry St. Leger, Oscar Pasley, Peter Montgomery, Zach Silverman, Kevin McKeown, Liam Walsh, Scott Kenny, Jack Geraghty, Jack Watchorn, Max Caulwell  SUBS USED: Oskar Nielsen (GK) (36 mins), Niall Ryan Doyle (4 mins), Hugo Faulkner (6 mins), Willam Knatchbull (6 mins), Liam RIchardson (10 mins), Jack Fairmaner (13 mins),  Philip Cole (36 mins)





Railway Union suffered their second League defeat of the season and their first at home on Sunday afternoon as they lost 0-1 to Catholic Institute in their Round 9 EYHL Women’s Division tie. In a close contest played in a great spirit, chances were not that forthcoming in the first quarter, which ended scoreless. The only goal of the game happened in the twenty third minute when Ireland international Naomi Carroll converted her penalty corner and it proved to be the only goal of the game. Railers could find no way past former international goalkeeper Pamela Smithwick-Hearne and it proved a frustrating afternoon for the home side. For the visitors a very important three points. With the remaining matches in this round taking place on Wednesday and Thursday it could take till the end of the week to realise the impact this win may have on the standings. For Catholic Institute, following their win on Saturday against Pegasus, six points out of a possible six is a great return from these back to back games. Final score Railway Union 0 Catholic Institute 1 .

RAILWAY UNION: Emma Buckley, Orla Patton, Sarah Patton, Niamh Carey, Katie Fearon, Michelle Carey, Lisa McCarthy,  Aebhfinn Burke, Emma Smyth (C),  Niamh Shaw, Saoirse Griffin SUBS USED: Holly Jenkinson (5 mins), Orla Fox (7 mins), Jenny Long (7 mins), Kate Lloyd (8 mins), Ailish Long (8 mins),

CATHOLIC INSTITUTE: Pamela Smithwick-Hearne, Roisin Begley, Aoife Hickey, Naomi Carroll, Leah Clery, Ciara  Moloney, Tory Moloney, Eimear Ryan(C), Michelle Barrett,  Anna Horan, Emilie Ryan Doyle,  Jennifer Clein,  SUBS USED: Seodhna Dervan (4 mins), Aoibheann Collins (4 mins) , Laura Foley (4 mins), Sarah Fitzgerald, (6 mins).