Hockey Ireland Pathway Traveling Squads Announced

Hockey Ireland Underage Squads Traveling for Match Series against England in Lilleshall



Dublin, February 12: Three Ireland representative squads – Under 16 girls, Under 16 boys and Under 18 boys arrived in Lilleshall today to begin a three-match series against England.

All three teams will have a game each on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday against their England counterparts and after the final matches will return straightaway to Ireland on Thursday.

These games which coincide with the school breaks on both sides of the Irish Sea are excellent preparation for what it takes to play international hockey in these respective age brackets.


Mick McKinnon Pathway Manager for Hockey Ireland said ahead of the games:

“It’s a pretty full-on schedule, each team will face three games in three days, and it will be hockey all the way for the duration. There are one or two new coaches who have come in so the players will be getting to know what tactics and styles of play they have in mind going forward.

“We will be on campus in Lilleshall and getting straight down to business as soon as we arrive. Each team has a squad of 20 over here and the coaches will be rotating to ensure each of the players gets some playing time against England. There will be more competitions and they will be back in action during the Easter break with teams going as far afield as Germany, Belgium and Poland. So, offers of sponsorship of all types for these squads are very welcome.”


Full squad lists as follows:

U16 Girls

 Player Name                                        Province                                           School                                                                          Club

Aisling Meehan Leinster Holy Child Killiney Monkstown HC
Anna Butler Leinster St Andrew’s College Monkstown HC
Caitlín Gribbin Ulster Rainey Endowed School Rainey RFHC
Daisy Costello Leinster Muckross Park College Muckross Hockey Club
Emma McEntee Ulster Friends School Lisburn Lurgan Ladies HC
Evie Girvan Ulster Royal School Dungannon Portadown Ladies HC
Evie Thompson Ulster Portadown College Portadown Ladies HC
Hollaí Quinn Leinster The High School Corinthians HC
Holly Farrell Leinster Mount anville Secondary school Pembroke Wanderers HC
Kate Collins Munster Bandon Grammar School Bandon HC
Kyah kelly Munster Newtown school, Waterford Waterford HC
Laoise Nelson Overseas Player Kent College Pembury Sevenoaks HC
Lara Wilson Ulster Wallace High School Lisnagarvey HC
Leah Galbraith Ulster Portadown College Portadown Ladies HC
Lily May Kelleher Munster Scoil Mhuire, Cork Cork Harlequins
Lucy Fox Leinster Wesley College YMCA
Lucy McCaffrey Ulster Wallace High School South Antrim
Nieve Caldwell Ulster Coleraine Grammar School Ulster Elks
Ruby Johnston Ulster Banbridge Academy Dromore Ladies HC
Sophie Tate Ulster Banbridge Academy Portadown Ladies HC
Team Manager Anita Patterson
Head Coach Shirley McCay
Assistant Coach Ross Hetem

U16 Boys

                       Name                                             Club                                                              Province                                                   School

Alfie Le Quesne YMCA Leinster Temple Carrig Greystones
Dylan Evans Bray hockey club Leinster Temple Carrig
Edward Irwin Cookstown Hockey Club Ulster Cookstown High School
Finn Thompson Lisnagarvey Hockey club Ulster Wallace High School
Harry Thompson Annadale Hockey Club Ulster Sullivan Upper School
Hayden Jones Waterford Hockey Club Munster Newtown Secondary School
Isaac Kelso Cookstown Hockey Club Ulster Cookstown High School
Jake Fulton Leinster
Johnny Woods YMCA HC Leinster Wesley College
Liam Walsh Portrane Leinster Sutton ParkSchool
Louis McDaid Cork C of i Munster Ashron
Noa Mulvey Portrane HC Leinster Skerries Community College
Oliver Graham YMCA Leinster Nord Anglia International School
Oliver Tumilty Lisnagarvey HC Ulster Wallace High School
Riagan Dunne Glenanne Leinster Colaiste Eanna Rathfarnham
Robbie McAreavey Instonians Ulster Royal Belfast Academical Institution (RBAI)
Robert O’Brien RAILWAY UNION Leinster The High School Dublin
Sam Holmes Instonians Ulster RBAI
Seb Holley Bangor HC Ulster Bangor Grammar School
Toby Slye O’Connell Railway Union Leinster St Andrews College
Team Manager Barton Shannon
Head Coach Ronan Hickey
Assistant Coach Denis Pritchard

U18 Boys

                        Name                                                           Province                                                        School                                                                             Club

Max Nicholson Ulster Banbridge Academy Banbridge HC
Ben Law Ulster Campbell College Belfast Bangor Hockey Club
Jamie Horgan Munster Bandon Grammar C of I
Harry St Leger Leinster St Columbas College Corinthian Hockey Club
Max Caulwell Leinster Wesley College Corinthian Hockey Club
Scott Kenny Leinster Kings Hospital Corinthian Hockey Club
Robert Olden Munster Midleton College Cork Church of Ireland
Sean Curtin Munster Midleton College Cork Harlequins
Matthew McAreavey Ulster RBAI Instonians Hockey Club
George Palmer Ulster RBAI Instonians Hockey Club
Michael Hollway Ulster RBAI Instonians Hockey Club
Tom Archbold Ulster Friends Lisnagarvey HC
John  Cunningham Ulster RBAI Lisnagarvey HC
Milo Thompson Ulster Wallace High School Lisnagarvey HC
Matthew McLearnon (GK) Ulster Wallace High School Lisnagarvey HC
Zach Silverman Leinster St Andrew’s College Three Rock Rovers
Oscar Pasley Leinster The High School Three Rock Rovers
James Coffey Leinster Wesley College Three Rock Rovers
Peter Montgomery Leinster Wesley College Three Rock Rovers
Ryan Williams Munster Newtown School Waterford Waterford
Team Manager Will Bartley
Head Coach Brinsley Powell
Assistant Coach Joel Cathcart