Hockey Volunteers Recognised in National Volunteers in Sports Awards Ceremony

Hockey Volunteers Recognised in National Volunteers in Sports Awards Ceremony

Cathryn Watson – Ballymoney HC

Ruth McDonagh – Bray HC

Sally Kavanagh – Waterford HC

Thursday February 29, Dublin: Hockey was well represented today as the Federation of Irish Sport honoured its list of recipients for the 2023 Volunteers in Sports Awards.

Three of our very own took to the stage to receive their awards as County recipients, and we couldn’t be prouder of their dedication to hockey and their well-deserved honour. Please be upstanding for:

  • Cathyrn Watson, Ballymoney Hockey Club – Antrim
  • Sally Kavanagh, Waterford Hockey Club – Waterford
  • Ruth McDonagh, Bray Hockey Club – Wicklow

The awards, celebrating the depth and breadth of volunteering in sporting communities nationwide, included as special guest speaker, Minister Thomas Byrne, Minster of State with responsibility for Sport and Physical Education, which is testament to the commitment at government level to supporting and recognising the vital role of volunteers in advancing sports participation and community development.

With a record-breaking number of entries, the 2023 Volunteers in Sport Awards saw nominations from over 50 different sporting disciplines, highlighting the widespread impact of volunteering ranging from mass participation sports to new and emerging sports.

Cathyrn, Sally and Ruth represent the dedication, values and support of all volunteers throughout hockey without whom our sport couldn’t survive let alone thrive. Congratulations to our three superstars and our heartfelt thanks to all the volunteers across our hockey community.