Women U16 and U18 Champions Crowned

Under 16 Women


Ulster took the lead in this game with a goal from open play scored by Alyssa Somerville in the 21st minute. They increased their lead in the 32nd minute when Evie Girvan converted a penalty corner. Alyssa Somerville got her second goal of the game from open play in the 45th minute to make the score Leinster 0 Ulster 3.
Leinster responded through Isabella Willis from open play in the 54th minute to reduce the deficit to 3-1. That two goal margin only lasted two minutes as Ulster restored their three goal margin when Lara Wilson scored from open play in the 56th minute. Ruby Johnson converted a penalty corner in the 66th minute to seal a 5-1 win for Ulster and the 2023-24 Under 16 Interprovincial title for the Ulsterwomen.

Under 18 women


If Ulster’s win in the Under 16 age bracket was something of a procession, the same cannot be said for Leinster’s victory in the Under 18 age bracket.
The game went back and forth and ended in a score draw and it took a succession of penalties to secure victory at the end of the tournament.
Leinster captain Millie Jerman led by example by converting her penalty corner in the 10th minute to give Leinster a 1-0 lead.
Erin Pim responded with a goal from open play for Ulster in the 28th minute to leave the scores level at 1-1 at half time.
Isobel field responded from open play to restore Leinster’s lead in the 38th minute and made the score 2-1.
Holly Beckinsale grabbed an equaliser with another open play goal for Ulster in the 53rd minute to bring it back to 2-2.
There was no further scoring so the game and the tournament was going to be decided by a shoot out.
Ulster won the toss and Rebekah Lennon converted her first effort 1-0 to the Ulsterwomen.
Sarah Byrne took Leinster’s first penalty of the shoot out and scored to make it 1-1.
Erin Pim took Ulster’s second penalty and was unable to score so it remained 1-1.
Milla Fulton converted Leinster’s second effort from the shoot out to make it 2-1.
Katie Herron of Ulster and Leinster’s Millie Jerman both missed the third efforts for their provinces
Isla Allen also missed Ulster’s fourth penalty to leave the score still at 2-1.
Mollie Lennon made no mistake from Leinster’s fourth effort to make the score 3-1.
Annie Cunningham missed for Ulster which meant Leinster won the title 3-1 via a shoot out following the 2-2 draw at the end of normal time.