Women’s Cup Finals Match Reports. 7th May, 2023





At the start of this game there were a number of possible outcomes. One would have seen University Of Galway win this competition and then add the Irish Hockey Trophy to secure a unique double on the day for the Women’s part of the student Hockey Club. However, there was another possible scenario which is actually how things transpired and that was Portrane won the Irish Women’s Hockey Challenge Trophy and brought it back to North County Dublin.

In the first quarter Portrane struck in the 11th minute when Sarah Jane Kelly converted a penalty corner. Sarah Jane Kelly was also green carded in the 25th minute temporarily reducing her team to 10 players. The second quarter was scoreless and the Dubliners led 1-0 at half time.

The second half got under way and shortly into the third quarter Portrane increased their lead when captain Hannah Moynihan scored from open play to make it 2-0. She added another goal, her second of the game four minutes later to leave Portrane leading 3-0 with almost half an hour left to play.

University of Galway responded within a minute through Ailill Dorman’s goal from open play in the 42nd minute. Portrane’s Nadine Patterson was yellow carded on 57 minutes. Jenny Buttimer of University of Galway was similarly penalised on 64 minutes and Isobel Farell of Portrane got the third yellow of the game and missed the end of the match on 66 minutes.

The final score was Portrane 3 University of Galway 1 and the Cup is on it’s way to North County Dublin.

PORTRANE: Neasa Bissett, Jenny Farrell, Nadine Patterson, Sarah Jane Kelly, Hannah Moynihan [captain], Sarah Dowling, Sarah Keon, Ruth Basson, Hailey Clark, Isobel Farrell, Eva Van Dreumel, Mieke Van Dreumel ,Caoimhe McCann, Katie Lloyd, Emma Walsh .

UNIVERSITY OF GALWAY: Ellen Duffy, Aoife Roche, Eimear McCallon, Eabha Durkan, Eimear Walsh, Eva O’Donnell, Jenny Buttimer, Aisling McGrath, Aoife Murphy [captain], Ailill Dorman, Katie Osborne, Chloe Lawlor, Anna Gavin, Ciara Murphy, Florence McDonald, Mia Walsh, Orla Bagnall






Corinthians women’s 2nds retained their Irish Junior Cup title with a closely fought 1-0 win over UCD at Belfield. Despite finishing in 6th place in the Leinster Women’s Division 2, three places below their opposition and also despite only collecting one point out of a possible six in their League outings, the Whitechurch based team were able to get the job done on the big day but at one point in the fourth quarter it looked like this game could possibly go all the way to a shoot out as three quarters had failed to produce a goal and the fourth looked like heading in a similar direction.

Early in the second quarter UCD were temporarily reduced to 10 players while Caro Theunisz served a two minute suspension due to her being green carded on 25 minutes. 0-0 at half time and well into the third quarter. Alannah Quinsey of Corinthians was green carded on the hour mark but the reduction to 10 players however temporarily did not impact the game at all.

With seven minutes left to play Laura Motyer scored from open play and it proved to be the match winner. Laura whose older brother is a former UCD player, scored in the 63rd minute and it proved decisive. UCD were unable to respond and the Junior Cup is returning to Whitechurch for the second year in a row.

Corinthians Men’s and Women’s firsts have enjoyed a very successful year winning their Leinster Men’s Division 1A and Women’s Division 1 titles respectively and both teams collecting the EYHL 2 Trophies as well. Corinthians, following this latest success, will have a lot of Cups to keep shiny for the next twelve months.

Final score from the Irish Junior Cup Final Corinthians 1 UCD 0.

CORINTHIANS: Hannah McKenna, Laura Heaney, Ciara Vincent, Sophie Maleady, Hannah McGrane, Camila Arbulo, Chalotte Stapleton, Annasophia Moller, Nadia Skelton, Deborah Young, Avril Cullen, Laura Motyer, Alannah Quinsey, Anna Peard, Niamh Walsh, Annabel Squires.

UCD: Lisa Baldwin, Abby Gilsenan, Sarah Fogarty, Anna Costello, Ciara Kelly, Lucy Bell, Emily Kavanagh, Isobel Bowen, Lauren Tracey [captain], Ella Ryan, Orla O’Donnell, Anna McCarthy, Fiona McNulty, Kate Ryan, Jessica Wagenaar, Caro Theunisz, Juliet Greene






The Irish Women’s Hockey Trophy decider went all the way to a shoot out before a winner could be decided. It was a scoreless first quarter which saw Honour Davison green carded for Omagh in the 14th minute. In a goalless second quarter Emma Fulton was green carded for Omagh in the 28th minute.

It was also a scoreless third quarter, where Gemma Buchanan of Omagh collected a green card in the 58th minute and in the goalless fourth quarter, Hannah Kelly of University of Galway was green carded in the 64th minute and Katharine McDowell of Omagh was green carded in the 68th minute.

So after 70 minutes of hockey it was down to penalties to decide the destination of this final piece of silverware from a hectic weekend. Ailbhe Folan took the first penalty for University of Galway and scored. Katie McDonnell missed the first one for Omagh 1-0. Hannah Kelly scored the second one for University of Galway 2-0. Amy McCollum missed the second one for Omagh 2-0 to University of Galway.

Ciara Dunne put University of Galway 3-0 up with their third penalty . Honour Davison got Omagh on the scoresheet when she converted Omagh’s third penalty to leave it 3-1.

Jenny Buttimer stepped to take University of Galway’s fourth penalty and made no mistake, and it finished 4-1 to the students of University of Galway in the shoot out and the Irish Women’s Hockey Trophy is heading west of the Shannon.

UNIVERSITY OF GALWAY: Anna O’Donoghue, Ailbhe Folan (captain), Emma Dillon, Aoife Quinn, Jenny Buttimer, Ciara Dunne, Ellie Hughes, Jess Dwyer-Matthews, Hannah Kelly, Megan Clinton, Ciara Burke, Aisling McGrath, Emily Duane (GK), Ailil Dorman, Aoife Roche.

OMAGH: Alison Long, Holly Swann, Emma Fulton, Emma Buchanan, Heather Moffitt, Gemma Buchanan, Lyndsey McCay, Cari McKinley, Honour Davison, Sophie Smyth, Lisa Barr, Laura White [captain], Rachel Buchanan, Katie McDowell, Katie Ballantine, Hollie Berrabah, Amy McCollum