The  All-Ireland Schools (Boys) Championship                          

The All-Ireland Schools (Boys) Championship brings together the top school talent in a play-off tournament to decide the  All-Ireland Schools (Boys) Champions of the year.

  • Each Province to decide their method of qualification to meet their quota
  • Players must be under the age of 19 at the start of the School Year (1st July)

It is the right of each province to produce its quota of Schools every year in its own way. Ulster  is based on previous year’s results and qualifying games, Leinster and Munster on qualifiers if necessary with the winners entered into European competitions every second year.

The tournament is held around Halloween time each year and consists of sixteen teams.  With eight Ulster, five Leinster and three Munster, there are four pools, the winner of each pool plays in the semi final and then final. The remaining teams then play a friendly against each other.

All Ireland Schoolboys 2022

Pool 1 Pool 2 Pool 3 Pool 4
RBAI Friends Banbridge Wallace
Ashton High School Wesley St Andrews
Kings Hospital Bandon Midleton Newtown
Sutton Park Bangor Sullivan Upper Cookstown
  Pool 1 Pool 2 Pool 3 Pool 4
Venue   Ashton Bandon Midleton Garryduff
Day 1 Time
 Wed 1.30 Ashton V Sutton Park Bandon V Friends Midleton V Banbridge St. Andrews V Cookstown
3.30 RBAI V Kings Hospital High School V Bangor Wesley V Sullivan Upper Newtown V Wallace
Venue   Ashton Bandon Midleton Garryduff Harlequins
Day 2 Time
Thurs 09.30 RBAI V Ashton Bandon V High School Kings Hospital V Sutton Park Friends V Bangor
11.15 Newtown V St. Andrews Wesley V Midleton Banbridge V Sullivan Upper Cookstown V Wallace
1.15 Ashton V Kings Hospital Bandon V Bangor Sutton Park V RBAI Friends V High School
3.15 Wesley V Banbridge Midleton V Sullivan Upper Newtown V Cookstown Wallace V St.Andrews
Venue   Ashton Midleton UCC Garryduff Harlequins
Day 3 Time
Friday 09.30 Semi-final 1 (Herbie Sharman) FRIENDLY 3 Semi-final 2 (Herbie Sharman) FRIENDLY 1
28/10 11.15 Semi-final 1 (Irish Schools) FRIENDLY 4 Semi-final 2 (Irish Schools) FRIENDLY 2
1.30 Final (Herbie Sharman)
3.15 Final (Irish Schools)

All Ireland Schoolboys Championship 2021

All Ireland Schoolboys Championship 2019

All Ireland Schoolboys Championship 2018

All Ireland Schoolboys Championship 2017

All Ireland Schoolboys Championship 2016

All Ireland Schoolboys Championship 2015

Winners over the years

Year  Winner  Runner-Up
2021 Bandon Grammar Banbridge Academy
2019 High School St Andrews
2018 Newtown School Banbridge Academy
 2017 St Andrews Wesley College
 2016 St Andrews Banbridge Academy
 2015 Banbridge Academy Wesley College
 2014 St Andrews Wallace HS
 2013 St Andrews Wesley College
 2012 St Andrews Wesley College
 2011 Banbridge Academy Cookstown
 2010 Banbridge St. Andrews
 2009 Wesley College Wallace HS
 2008 St Andrews Wesley College
 2007 Cookstown Banbridge
 2006 Banbridge Academy RBAI
 2005 Bandon GS RBAI
 2004 Wesley College Bandon GS
 2003 RBAI Bandon GS
 2002 Wesley College RBAI
 2001 St Andrew’s Wesley College
 2000 Ashton Wesley College
 1999 Kilkenny College Ashton
 1998 Ashton Wesley College
 1997 Bangor Ashton
 1996 Newpark Wesley College
 1995 RBAI MCB
 1994 RBAI Cookstown HS
 1993 Wellington Friends S
 1992 Banbridge Academy RBAI
 1991 RBAI Wesley College
 1990 RBAI Newpark
 1989 Bangor GS RBAI
 1988 RBAI Banbridge Academy
 1987 Wallace HS MCB
 1986 RBAI Bandon GS
 1985 MCB Wallace HS
 1984 Newry HS Wallace HS
 1983 Newry HS Wallace HS
 1982 Newry HS Banbridge Academy