What Is The Irish Hockey Hall Of Fame?
The Irish Hockey Hall Of Fame was instituted in 2006 at Hockey Ireland’s Inaugural Irish Hockey Awards, on 24 th June 2006. It is a unique group of carefully-selected exceptional players from Irish hockey’s illustrious past, whose achievements deserve to be honoured and preserved in the sport’s proud history. Irish hockey has a deep, rich history of success and accomplishment and the Irish Hockey Hall of Fame has been instituted to preserve the greats of the past and present them as role models for Irish players of the future.

Who Is Eligible To Be Selected For The Irish Hockey Hall Of Fame?
Past international players eligible for induction to the Irish Hockey Hall of Fame must have achieved outstanding success and accomplishments in the game while representing Ireland. Those players will also have demonstrated exceptional qualities of play and sportsmanship throughout their playing careers.

To be considered for induction a player must have fully retired from International hockey and be available to collect the award.

Who Decides Who Is Selected Into The Irish Hockey Hall Of Fame?
A specially-selected committee has been established by the Hockey Ireland to research and recommend players for induction into the Irish Hockey Hall Of Fame. The members of this five-member committee have been selected based on the deep knowledge they have of Irish hockey and its past greats, and the high esteem they are held in across Irish hockey.

Player Members


Men Women
Jimmy KirkwoodRead More John McKeeRead More Joanne QuinnRead more Noelle BraniganRead More
Men Women
Noel QuinnRead More W. Mark SinnamonRead More Eilish MackenRead more Laura Flood (Dobbs)Read More


Men Women
 Stephen MartinRead More Mark BurnsRead More  Gwen DohertyRead more  Violet McBrideRead More
Men Women
 Billy McConnellRead More Eddie CumminsRead More  Maggie GleghorneRead more  Mary GeaneyRead More
Men Women
 Jonathan ColeRead More  John G. ClarkeRead More  Jenny GivanRead more  Marie BartlettRead More
Men Women
 John A DouglasRead More  Pat HadeRead More  Anne LaingRead more Dr Anita DochertyRead More
Walter S Mercer

Read More

Valerie BarryRead More
Men Women
 Steven JohnstonRead More Stewart McNultyRead More  Helen BuckleyRead more Irene CahillRead More
Ian RaphaelRead More Terry GreggRead More Nora SmithRead More     Sheila WillisRead More
Men  Women 
 David JudgeRead More  Reg TreacyRead More Joan HorneRead More  Betty HendersonRead More
Harry CahillRead More   Noel O’DwyerRead More Thelma HopkinsRead More  Maeve ShankeyRead More
Ken BlackmoreRead More Joan O’ReillyRead More