National Indoor Trophy

The National Indoor Trophy is open to all to enter on an annual basis with the winners from both the men’s and women’s progressing on to represent Ireland at a European level.

The Tournament will take the form of regional qualifier stages (if the breakdown of entries merit it) culminating into the National Finals weekend.

The tournament is conducted in accordance with the Rules of Indoor Hockey and the Regulations of the F.I.H.

2024 National Finals

The 2024 Indoor National Finals will take place in Kingfisher Galway on the 28th January 2024.

9.15 – Womens Semi 1 ( Connacht 1 v Leinster 1)

10.20- Womens Semi 2  ( Leinster 2 v Ulster 1)

11.30 – Mens Semi 1 ( Leinster 1 v Leinster 3)

12.35 – Mens Semi 2( Leinster 2 v Ulster 1 )

1.30 – Womens 3rd/4th – Only 2 x 15mins –

2.15 – Mens 3rd/4th –  2 x 15mins

3.15pm – Womens Final

4.30 pm – Mens Final

** Matches will be 4 x 10 mins  . 3rd/4th place games will be 2 x 15 mins and no shoot out if a draw **

2023 National Finals 

The 2023 Indoor National Finals were hosted at the Antrim Forum.

In the men’s final, Three Rock Rovers defeated Monkstown 8-7 in the game’s last play. Railway Union defeated Ards 3-0 in the women’s final.

Three Rock Rovers Winners of the Irish Indoor Championship 2023

Railway Union Winners of the Irish Indoor Championship 2023

All results from Sunday’s games.

Ards 9-4 University of Galway
Railway Union 8-0 Glenanne
Monkstown 7-1 Queens University
Cookstown 4-9 Three Rock Rovers
3rd & 4th Place
University of Galway 1-5 Glenanne
Queens University 2-7 Cookstown
Ards 0-3 Railway Union
Monkstown 7-8 Three Rock Rovers

2020 National Finals

The 2020 Indoor National Finals were hosted in the Kingfisher, NUIG. All the matches throughout the day were live streamed on the Eurohockeytv platform, with the voice of hockey Nick Irvine on commentary. Viewing figures for the day were just shy of 4000 – with 49 countries tuning in.

Railway Union Women’s retained their title for the 2nd year in a row by beating Muckross 2-0 in the final, Hannah de Burgh Whyte and Emma Smyth both scoring.

Railway’s Men defeated champions of the previous 4 years TRR in a dramatic shoot out. after the game finished 3-3. Bjorn Dasse standing out, by netting a hat-trick for Railway who came from 3-0 down.

Both Railway teams, will now go on to Represent Hockey Ireland in euro club competitions


Mens Results

Semi Final 1: Railway Union 7 – 1 Limerick

Semi Final 2: Three Rock Rovers 10 – 2 Banbridge

Final: Three Rock Rovers 3 – 3 Railway Union (Railway win 1-0 in shootout)

Womens Results

Semi Final 1: Railway Union 3 – 0 Galway

Semi Final 2: Muckross 3 – 1 Ards

Final: Railway Union 2 – 0 Muckross

The 2020 National Indoor Hockey finals will take place on Sunday 2nd Feb at The Kingfisher, NUIG, Galway.

Schedule is below:

9.30am Mens semi 1 Railway Union v Limerick

10.30am Mens Semi 2 Three Rock Rovers v Banbridge

11.30am Ladies semi 1 Railway Union v Galway

12.30pm Ladies semi 2 Muckross v Ards

1.30pm Mens 3rd /4th place game

2.30pm Ladies 3rd/4th place game

3.30pm Mens Final

4.45pm Ladies Final

The 2019 National Indoor Finals took place in The Antrim Forum on Sunday 27th January 2019.

Railway Union women and Three Rock Rovers men are crowned 2019 National Indoor Champions.



9.30am – Ladies Semi Final 1: Ashton 0v11 Railway Union

10.30am – Ladies semi Final 2: Ards 5v1 Galway

11.30am- Mens Semi Final 1: Limerick 2v17 Three Rock Rovers

12.30pm – Mens Semi Final 2: Cookstown 1v3 Railway Union

1.30pm – Ladies 3rd/4th place game: Galway 3vs3 Ashton. Galway win 2-1 in penalty shootout

2.30pm – Mens 3rd/4th place game: Cookstown 8vs3 Limerick

3.30pm – Ladies Final: Railway Union 6-1 Ards

4.45pm – Mens Final: Railway Union 1vs6 Three Rock Rovers

Past Winners:

Men    Women   
Year Winner  Year  Winner
2023 Three Rock Rovers 2023 Railway Union
2022 Three Rock Rovers 2022 Railway Union
2021 Covid 2021 Covid
2020 Railway Union 2020 Railway Union
2019 Three Rock Rovers 2019 Railway Union
2018 Three Rock Rovers 2018 Ards
2017 Three Rock Rovers 2017 Ards
2016 Three Rock Rovers 2016 Ards
2015 Railway Union 2015 Ards
2014 Queen’s 2014 Ards
2013 Railway Union 2013 Ards
2012 Three Rock Rovers 2012 Ards
2011 Three Rock Rovers 2011 Railway Union