Women’s Indoor Squad Announced for Euro Championships

The following have been selected for the European Championship III event in Bratislava 24-26th January:

1 Caroline Adams Ards LHC
2 Sophie Barnwell Muckross LHC
3 Amy Benson Ards LHC
4. Chlor Brown (Vice Capt) East Grinstead LHC, England
5. Naomi Carroll Catholic Institute LHC
6. Orla Fox (Capt) Railway Union HC
7. Erin Getty Queens University HC
8. Hannah Humphries (GK) UCC
9. Ali Meeke Loreto LHC
10. Sarah Patton UCD LHC
11. Orla Patton UCD LHC
12 Millie Regan (GK) East Grinstead LHC, England

Non-Travelling reserves:
1. Victoria Hastings Queens University HC
2. Holly Jenkinson Railway Union HC

1. David Passmore Head Coach
2. Gareth Myburgh Manager
3. Mike Hughes Assistant Coach
4. Amy Phelan Athletic Therapist
5. Liam Passmore Video

Sport Hall Dom športu, Junácka 6, 831 06 Bratislava, Slovakia

“There has been plenty of competition for the final squad, and not having the complete group of players together has challenging but I am happy this is the group best placed to represent us in a fortnight. Several players were very close to selection and the final places came down to small margins. Having not competed at this level before, and never in in the European championships it is hard to know what to expect”

“Spain will be the obvious favourites but each of the other nations would see indoor as more of a strength than their outdoor game and breaking these teams down will need patience and good decision making. South Africa gave us good preparation time together and one thing we can say is this is a tight group who are keen to learn and compete for their country at senior level”

Hockey Ireland Announce Squad for Men’s Indoor Tournament

It’s an exciting time for Irish Indoor Hockey with the re-establishment of the Men’s and Women’s Senior National Teams after a 30+ year hiatus. The last tournament the Ireland Indoor Men’s Team played in was at home at Loughlinstown Leisure Centre in Co. Dublin in 1987.

“I would like to compliment all players involved in the preparation period so far on their commitment,” said Head Coach, Kenny Carroll. “Selecting the final squad was difficult due to the high standard of players who were in contention. The 12 players selected to represent Ireland, the 2 non travelling reserves, the players on the Training Panel and all players playing domestic club Indoor hockey this season are all part of the journey we are on to compete at the top level and also to build and improve the base of Indoor hockey in Ireland. Both of these aims are mutually inclusive and reliant on each other, and will improve and develop Hockey in Ireland, there is no doubt.

“I am very happy to have in our squad an array of talented athletes who I believe will prepare diligently for and play exciting and clinical Indoor hockey while representing Ireland in Santander in January. The team will be lead on the court by our captain John Jackson , who has been part of the many International successes of the Green Machine over the last decade. Throughout the squad we have a nice blend of current and previous International experience, exciting young talent and ambitious athletes. We have tough and experienced opponents in hosts Spain, Scotland , Slovenia and Wales. I know our squad are relishing this challenge.

The supportive management team are also looking forward to assisting the playing group in the next stage of the preparation phase and the Tournament.”

Ireland Men Indoor Squad – Santander January 17th- 19th 2020 EuroHockey Indoor Championship III

The Selected Squad is as follows:

1. Ross Canning (Three Rock Rovers)

2. Mark English (Three Rock Rovers)

3. Neal Glassey (Crefelder THC – Germany)

4. John Jackson  captain (Team Bath Buccaneers – England)

5. Jason Lynch – vice captain (Monkstown)

6. Harry Morris (Three Rock Rovers)

7. Stephen O’Keeffe – GK (Railway Union)

8. Brendan Parsons (Railway Union)

9. Rowland Rixon Fuller (Glenanne)

10. Callum Robson (Crefelder THC – Germany)

11. Michael Robson (Crefelder THC – Germany)

12. Stephen West – GK  (Team Bath Buccaneers – England)

Non travelling Reserves

13. Eoin MacArthur (Railway Union)

14. Mark Crooks (Cookstown)

Management Team

Kenny Carroll – Head Coach

Craig Stewart – Assistant Coach / Analyst

Rob Abbott – Manager

Huw Rees – Physio


Training Panel

15. Neil Byrne (Glenanne )

16. Richard Couse (Avoca)

16. Ben O Grady (YMCA)

17. Stu Ronan (Glenanne)

18. Stu Smyth (Cookstown)

21. Jakim Bernsden GK (YMCA)

20. Euan MacKay GK (Corinthians)