The Kate Russell All Ireland Schoolgirls Championships are played on an annual  basis and consists of the following five teams:

  • Winner from each provincial schools cup qualifies for the All Ireland’s (Players must be under the age of 19 at the start of the School Year (August 1st))
  • The Tournament is played on a round robin basis and under Hockey Ireland Rules and Regulations for tournaments.

Kate Russell was one of the most influential figures in the history of the Irish Ladies’ Hockey Union (ILHU). Her utter dedication to the game was of huge benefit to the union. She was ILHU Honorary Secretary from 1938-59 and served as ILHU President in 1966-67.  She was President of Leinster LHU 1964-69, Honorary Secretary (IFWHA) 1963-1971 and Vice President (IFWHA) 1971. She was made Honorary Life Member of the ILHU.

Kate died in 1978 after 50 years of service to the game and upon her death hundreds of condolences poured into the offices of the ILHU, from all corners of the hockey playing world.

The Kate Russell All Ireland Schoolgirls Championship was first played for in 1980. Her memory and legacy lives on through all those girls and women who continue to play the game and in particular through those who play in this competition.

Past Winners

Year  Winner
2023 Wesley College (Leinster)
2022 Methodist College (Ulster)
2021 Competition Cancelled due to Covid19
2020 Competition Cancelled due to Covid19
2019 Crescent Comprehensive (Munster)
 2018  Kilkenny College (South East)
 2017  Banbridge Academy (Ulster)
 2016  Methodist College (Ulster)
 2015  Crescent College Comprehensive (Munster)
 2014  Lurgan College (Ulster)
 2013  Lurgan College (Ulster)
 2012  Alexandra College (Leinster)
 2011  Lurgan College (Ulster)
 2010  St. Andrews College (Leinster)
 2009  Colaiste Iognaid (Connacht)
 2008  Royal School Armagh (Ulster)
 2007  Royal School Armagh (Ulster)
 2006  Mount Mercy (Munster)
 2005  Omagh Academy (Ulster)
 2004  Royal School Armagh (Ulster)
 2003  Lurgan (Ulster)
 2002  Royal School Armagh (Ulster)
 2001  Ballymena Academy (Ulster)
 2000  Loreto Bray (Leinster)
 1999  Mount Anville (Leinster)
 1998  Regent House (Ulster)
 1997  Enniskillen Collegeate (Ulster)
 1996  Ursuline Covent Thurles (Munster)
 1995  Royal School Dungannon (Ulster)
 1994  Kilkenny College (South East)
 1993  Ursuline Convent Cork (Munster)
 1992  Strathearn School (Ulster)
 1991  Mount Mercy Cork (Munster)
 1990  Ballymena Academy (Ulster)
 1989  Ursuline Convent, Cork (Munster)
 1988  Taylors Hill, Galway (Connacht)
 1987  Wesley College (Leinster)
 1986  Wesley College (Leinster)
 1985  St. Columbas College (Leinster)
 1984  Strathearn School (Ulster)
 1983  Wesley College (Leinster)
 1982  Loreto Beauford (Leinster)
 1981  Newtown School Waterford (South East)
 1980 Our Ladys Terenure (Leinster)