Women’s World Cup

The Green Army made their first Hockey World Cup appearance since 2002 in London 2018, having been assured of a ticket to London on the back of a strong Hockey World League campaign and results going their way in the Continental Championships. The Green Army performed well at the Hockey World League Semi-Final in Johannesburg, claiming seventh place thanks to a battling 2-1 win over India in their final match which left them on the verge of World Cup qualification. Their World Cup spot was finalised a few months later when Australia and New Zealand – two teams that had already achieved qualification for London – reached the final of the Oceania Cup Continental Championship, opening the door for Ireland who were next in line.

After a 16 year absence, Ireland looked forward to competing in their fourth Women’s Hockey World Cup following appearances at the Amsterdam 1986 (NED), Dublin 1994 (IRL) and Perth 2002 (AUS) events. Their best finishing position came on home soil at Dublin 1994, where they finished in 11th place. The team coached by former Ireland men’s international Graham Shaw had more than enough talent to outstrip their previous best performance. With over 250 international appearances to her name, the influential Shirley McCay commanded respect both on and off the field, while quicksilver attacker Anna O’Flanagan earned a reputation as a feared goal-scorer who can turn a game in the blink of an eye. Little did they know what lay ahead !

World Cup Squad:




Ayeisha McFerran University of Louisville GK
Grace O’Flanagan Railway Union GK
Yvonne O’Byrne Cork Harlequins Defender
Hannah Matthews Loreto Defender
Elena Tice UCD Defender
Zoe Wilson Belfast Harlequins Defender
Roisin Upton Cork Harlequins Defender
Shirley McCay Pegasus Defender
Katie Mullan UCD Midfield/Forward (Captain)
Nicci Daly Loreto Midfield/Forward
Gillian Pinder Pembroke Midfield/Defender
Megan Frazer Mannheim Midfield/Defender
Chloe Watkins Bloemendaal Midfield
Lizzie Colvin Belfast Harlequins Midfield
Deirdre Duke UCD Forward
Nicola Evans UHC Forward (Vice Captain)
Ali Meeke Loreto Midfield/Forward
Anna O’Flanagan Bloemendaal Forward/Midfield (Vice Captain)

Dates: July 21st -August 5th 2018

Venue: Lee Valley Hockey & Tennis Centre, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park London

Official Tournament Website: Click Here